YourSpirituality.net Spiritual Forums
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Life Stories

+3
TigersEyeDowsing
tmarie64
gillyflower
7 posters

Go down

Life Stories Empty Life Stories

Post by gillyflower Tue Jul 13, 2010 9:58 am

My children are pressing me to write my life story and include my memories about my parents and grandparents. Sadly, in my family (except for me) people tended to marry or have children late in life. They don't remember their grandparents. After I agreed, I started thinking about it - and this is something that I have had a lot of experience with in genealogy. People come in with stories to "prove" about their families and many times it only has a passing acquaintance with what really happened. Sometimes they are invented, others dropped entirely, and still more are changed a bit to put the people in a better or worse light. And it isn't all deliberate! People forget, hear things differently, etc. Stuff happens and other people don't always know the whole story.

But back to the point. Just how much should future generations know? Like every family, we had our dark secrets. Do they really need to be passed along? I feel conflicted by loyalties. Do I keep my parents secrets? Do I tell all? What do you think?

Live a good life. If there are gods and they are just, then they will not care how devout you have been, but will welcome you based on the virtues you have lived by. If there are gods, but unjust, then you should not want to worship them. If there are no gods, then you will be gone, but will have lived a noble life that will live on in the memories of your loved ones. Marcus Aurelius
gillyflower
gillyflower
Admin
Admin

Back to top Go down

Life Stories Empty Re: Life Stories

Post by tmarie64 Tue Jul 13, 2010 10:13 am

If my parents wouldn't mention it to my children, neither would I.